clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Khalil Mack named a finalist for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Mack could become the first Chargers player ever to win the award.

NFL: Chicago Bears at Los Angeles Chargers Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

On Thursday morning, Chargers edge rusher Khalil Mack was named as one of eight finalists for this year’s Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award which is given annually to the player that best exemplifies outstanding sportsmanship on the playing field. The award is named after Art Rooney, the founder of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

The remaining seven players also named finalists this year are Jets linebacker CJ Mosley, Cardinals safety Budda Baker, Raiders defensive end Maxx Crosby, 49ers fullback Kyle Juszczyk, Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott, Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner, and Ravens offensive guard Kevin Zeitler.

The honor has been given out annually since the 2014 NFL season when wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald won it as a member of the Arizona Cardinals. In its nine-year history, no Chargers player has won the award. Only the Carolina Panthers have won the award twice (Luke Kuechly, Teddy Bridgewater).

Should Mack be lucky enough to win the award, it’d just be one more reason why the 2023 campaign may be his best one yet.