clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin Herbert wins 2020 AP NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year

Is anyone surprised?

Denver Broncos v Los Angeles Chargers Photo by Sean M. Haffey/Getty Images

Bring out the brisket because it’s time to do some celebrating.

Quarterback Justin Herbert is your 2020 AP NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year. The award was announced at the NFL Honors on Saturday evening.

Herbert beat out an extremely talented group of rookies that included Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson, Jaguars running back James Robinson, and Colts running back Jonathan Taylor.

After a surprise start in Week 2 against the reigning Super Bowl champions, Herbert took the reigns of the offense and authored one of the greatest seasons by a rookie passer in NFL history. By the end of the year — and in 15 games, no less — the 2020 sixth-overall pick had re-written numerous records. Among them were the marks for passing touchdowns (31), total touchdowns (36), games with at least 300 yards passing (8), and total completions (396). He also fell just 39 yards short the rookie passing yards record set by Andrew Luck in 2012.