clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Justin Herbert wins Pepsi Zero Sugar Rookie of the Year

Herbert was one of five finalists for the fan-voted award.

NFL: Los Angeles Chargers at Kansas City Chiefs Jay Biggerstaff-USA TODAY Sports

The Chargers fan base, and the rest of the fans around the NFL, have spoken.

Quarterback Justin Herbert is your Pepsi Zero Sugar Rookie of the Year.

Herbert becomes the first Chargers player since Keenan Allen (2013) to win the honor after throwing for 4,336 yards and 31 touchdowns in 15 games. His passing yards are the second-most by a rookie (Andrew Luck, 2012) and his passing scores are the most by a rookie in NFL history. The 2020 sixth-overall pick also broke the rookie records for most completions (396) and total touchdowns scored by a rookie (36).

This honor likely didn’t come as the biggest surprise to Bolt fans, especially after Herbert won the Pepsi Rookie of the Week honor a record nine times this past season, tying Ben Roethlisberger’s mark from 2004. This was the first year where the award was 100 percent voted on by the fans and Herbert made sure to acknowledge those who supported him throughout the entire year.

“I think that is why it means so much,” Herbert said. “For them to come out in such great big numbers was a huge honor. Despite the challenging year that we had to have their support throughout this entire year, it meant so much to me.”

Herbert won the award over four other outstanding rookies from the 2020 season. Those players included Vikings wide receiver Justin Jefferson, Jaguars running back James Robinson, Colts running back Johnathan Taylor, and Washington defensive end Chase Young.