clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chargers ink Murray, Hill to rookie deals

This brings the total to four rookies that have agreed to terms as of Saturday night.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 18 Oklahoma at Kansas Photo by Scott Winters/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Just a few hours after the team signed sixth-overall pick Justin Hebert to a four-year deal, the Chargers agreed to terms with fellow first-rounder Kenneth Murray Jr. and inked seventh-round pick K.J. Hill to their respective rookie contracts.

Per NFL insider Ian Rapoport, Murray Jr. will officially sign when he completes his physical with the team.

Murray Jr, who was selected with the 23rd pick after the Bolts traded back into the first round, will make $13 million during his first four years in the league. He comes to the Chargers after a very productive three-year career with the Sooners where he was named a First-Team All-Big 12 selection in 2019 and the co-Defensive Freshman of the Year back in 2017.

Murray will wear No. 56, the number made popular with the Chargers by former sack artist, Shawne Merriman. He brings a rare combination of size, speed, and athleticism that the Chargers haven’t had in the middle of their defense for quite some time.

Hill was regarded as one of the biggest steals in the draft when the Bolts snagged him in the final round of the draft. After impressing in Mobile at the Senior Bowl, many believed he would see his draft stock rise. However, a poor performance in his athletic testing likely saw to his fall on day three.

Still, Hill left Ohio State as the school’s all-time leader in receptions with 201. He was quoted following his selection saying he is an avid watcher of Keenan Allen film and that’s not surprising when you watch him on tape. Hill was the No. 1 receiver among Power 5 schools in gaining separation against single coverage. He has nuance to his route running and it’s fun to watch, just like Allen. He’ll be battling fifth-round pick Joe Reed and incumbent Andre Patton for meaningful playing time in 2020.