clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A trio of Chargers named alternates for Pro Bowl

Los Angeles Chargers v Seattle Seahawks Photo by Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images

On Thursday evening, a league-leading seven Chargers players were named to the 2019 Pro Bowl in Orlando, Florida. There players were rookie safety Derwin James (voted a starter), quarterback Philip Rivers, running back Melvin Gordon. wide receiver Keenan Allen, center Mike Pouncey, outside linebacker Melvin Ingram, and safety/linebacker Adrian Phillips as the AFC’s designated special teams player.

After the initial players were announced, a number of other players were named as alternates in case of absences due to injuries o ran appearance in this year’s Super Bowl.

Three Bolts were named alternates this year with left tackle Russell Okung leading the way as a first alternate for the AFC. Cornerback Casey Hayward was named a second alternate while fullback Derek Watt has been named a third alternate by the fans.

Okung has started all but one game this season and has been a stalwart of consistency since he signed with the Chargers prior to last season. Hayward is experiencing a down year due to an intense regression to the mean. After snagging 11 picks over the last two years, Hayward heads into week 16 of this season with a goose egg still in the interception column. Watt’s selection is a refreshing sight for the fullback and, quite frankly, is well-deserved after what he’s done this season to help Melvin Gordon to a career-year in terms of yards per carry so far this season.