clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The last time the Chargers and every other team finished in first place in the division

More than half the NFL has won its division since the last time the Chargers won theirs.

NFL: San Diego Chargers at Baltimore Ravens Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

How long has it been since the San Diego Chargers finished at the top of their division? You have to go all the way back to 2009 when they won 13 games, the second-best winning percentage in franchise history. That team also had three All-Pros: Nate Kaeding (1st team), Antonio Gates (2nd team), and Kris Dielman (2nd team).

I went through and found the last time each team ended up in first place in their division. Unsurprisingly, more than half of the first-place finishes have come in the last four years thanks to parity.

All but seven teams have won their division within the last nine years. Those special seven are the Los Angeles Rams, New York Jets, Oakland Raiders, Jacksonville Jaguars, Buffalo Bills, Detroit Lions, and Cleveland Browns. Those last three are running jokes of franchises, so it’s not exactly unexpected to find them at the bottom of the list.

Take a look at the entire list (previous division title years in parentheses for 2015 winners) and let me know what you think.

Arizona Cardinals 2015 (2009)

Atlanta Falcons 2012

Baltimore Ravens 2012

Buffalo Bills 1995

Carolina Panthers 2015 (2014)

Chicago Bears 2010

Cincinnati Bengals 2015 (2013)

Cleveland Browns 1989

Dallas Cowboys 2014

Denver Broncos 2015 (2014)

Detroit Lions 1993

Green Bay Packers 2014

Houston Texans 2015 (2012)

Indianapolis Colts 2014

Jacksonville Jaguars 1999

Kansas City Chiefs 2010

Los Angeles Rams 2003

Miami Dolphins 2008

Minnesota Vikings 2015 (2009)

New England Patriots 2015 (2014)

New Orleans Saints 2011

New York Giants 2011

New York Jets 2002

Oakland Raiders 2002

Philadelphia Eagles 2013

Pittsburgh Steelers 2014

San Diego Chargers 2009

San Francisco 49ers 2012

Seattle Seahawks 2014

Tampa Bay Buccaneers 2007

Tennessee Titans 2008

Washington Redskins 2015 (2012)