clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Diego Chargers announce remaining cuts

The Chargers have announced their roster moves to take them down to the 53 player limit prior to the deadline this afternoon.

Kyle Terada-USA TODAY Sports

The San Diego Chargers have announced who was released/moved today in order to get down to the league maximum of 53 players.


QB Brad Sorensen

RB Dreamius Smith

TE Brian Parker

TE John Phillips

WR Javontee Herndon

WR Austin Pettis

OG Michael Huey

OG Kenny Wiggins

DT Damion Square

LB Chi Chi Ariguzo (Injured)

LB Ryan Mueller

LB Colton Underwood (Injured)

CB Richard Crawford

CB Greg Ducre

CB Jordan Mabin

CB Lowell Rose

S Johnny Lowdermilk

S Adrian Phillips

K Nick Novak


OG Jeremiah Sirles (Received 6th-round pick from Minnesota in return)

Reserve/Suspended list

TE Antonio Gates

OG Craig Watts

After making these cuts, this leaves four undrafted free agent rookies still on the roster: K Josh Lambo,  WR Tyrell Williams, LB Nick Dzubnar and OT Tyreek Burwell. Also, both Tourek Williams and Johnnie Troutman remain on the roster and were not moved to the injured reserve list, meaning the team likely expects them to return to the roster at some time fairly early in the season.

The team can begin the process of signing their practice squad players after 1 PM EST on Sunday, Sept. 6th.