clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

A Contemporary All Ex-Charger Team

One of the classic self-hating Charger fan moves is to talk about the success players like Rodney Harrison and Junior Seau had with other NFL teams after San Diego declared them washed up. Recently, this has mutated into bringing up Drew Brees and Darren Sproles. In a bout of Super Bowl self-loathing, I came up with the modern all ex-Chargers. I'm not going to get caught up in who cut who or didn't resign for this exercise. We'll just leave it that all of these guys were under San Diego control at one point, then they weren't. Most of the names on this list have pretty good logic behind how they left the team. Laurent Robinson probably stings the most in terms of how easily he could have been retained (over a guy like Brian Walters).

Ex-Chargers that are Flourishing in the NFL

Quarterback - Drew Brees
Running Back - Darren Sproles, Michael Turner
Wide Receiver - Laurent Robinson, Wes Welker
Tight End - Scott Chandler
Offensive Line - None!

Defensive Line - Dave Ball
inebacker - Ben Leber, Kevin Burnett
Defensive Back - Antonio Cromartie, Drayton Florence,

Special Teams - Kassim Osgood, C.J. Spillman (for him, staying on a roster = flourishing)
Coaching - Ron Rivera, Cam Cameron (as a Coordinator), Wade Phillips (as a Coordinator), Rob Chudzinski

After the jump we will present the opposite side of this coin - the "The We're-Glad-They-Are-Ex-Chargers Team". The remarkable thing about both lists is the O-line stability.

The We-Don't-Miss-These-Ex-Chargers Team

Quarterback - Jonathan Crompton, J.T. O'Sullivan, Charlie Whitehurst
Running Back - LaDainian Tomlinson
Wide Receiver - Seyi Ajirotutu, Legedu Naanee, Buster Davis, Kelley Washington
Tight End - Kris Wilson, Justin Peelle, Brandon Manumaleuna
Offensive Line - None!

Defensive Line - Travis Johnson, Jamal Williams
Linebackers - Shawne Merriman, Antwan Applewhite, Jyles Tucker, Brandon Siler
Defensive Backs - Quinton Teal, C.J. Spillman (ok seriously this time), Donald Strickland

Special Teams - David Binn, Kris Brown

Coaches - Wade Phillips (as a HC), Ted Cottrell, Cam Cameron (as a HC)