clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jeromey Clary Wins Ed Block Courage Award

Since 1984, NFL players have voted on which of their teammates has shown the most courage, and best sportsmanship, during the season. Each team has a winner every year, and past winners for the Chargers include Nick Hardwick (2008), Darren Sproles (2007), Jamal Williams (2002), Junior Seau (1997) and others.

This year's recipient for the San Diego Chargers is starting Right Tackle Jeromey Clary. Here's their write-up on him:

Clary was having one of the best seasons of his career in 2009 when it ended early as a result of a serious ankle injury late in the Chargers’ Nov. 22 game at Denver. Clary had started the first 10 games and the team’s offensive line was collectively playing some of its best football when the injury struck. In fact, the Chargers rushed for a season-high 203 yards and didn’t give up a single sack in the Broncos game.
Following surgery, Clary spent his entire offseason in San Diego, rehabilitating the ankle, and the hard work paid dividends. He returned to his familiar right tackle spot in 2010 and started every game as Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers put up one of the most prolific passing seasons in team history.

Congrats to Clary, who I've heard nothing but wonderful things about since I started writing about this team. This is great honor to win because it shows just how much Jeromey's teammates think of him and the season he had.