clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

San Diego Chargers Select 2009 Captains

The San Diego Chargers players have voted, and the team has named their captains for the 2009 season.  These guys will take care of the coin toss and get that fancy "C" on their jerseys all year.  These are the guys have been voted on as their peers to be recognized as leaders on the field and in the locker room.

Offensive Captains

  • Philip Rivers, QB (4th year as captain)
  • LaDainian Tomlinson, HB (7th year as captain)

Defensive Captains

  • Jamal Williams, DT (5th year as captain)
  • Stephen Cooper, LB (1st year as captain)

Special Teams Captain

  • Kassim Osgood, WR (5th year as captain)

How's that for consistency?  Congrats goes out to all of the guys, but especially to Stephen Cooper.  I read an interview last year where Coop said he had always been a quiet guy, but felt like he needed to start being more vocal and leading the defense last year to get it going in the right direction after Cottrell was fired.  It's great to see that the other players have noticed his effort and lined up behind him by voting him as one of their defensive captains.