clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chargers Team Awards

As you may or may not know, each year each NFL team gathers votes from the players on the team for awards such as Team MVP, Offensive Player of the Year, and so forth.  They usually have silly rules like the guy who is Team MVP can't also win Player of the Year for his side of the ball, and if the top 2 vote-getters are close they share the award.  Although we don't know what those rules are in the Chargers locker room, the following list still shows which players are the most respected and most valued by their teammates .

For the 2009-2010 season, here are your winners:

Team MVP: Philip Rivers, QB

Offensive Player of the Year: Antonio Gates, TE and Vincent Jackson, WR

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Marcus McNeill, LT

Defensive Player of the Year: Quentin Jammer, CB and Shaun Phillips, OLB

Special Teams Player of the Year: Kassim Osgood, WR

Inspirational Player of the Year: Stephen Cooper, ILB